Janet Rice

Senator for Victoria

Janet Rice is a climate scientist, environmentalist, and a founding member of the Greens in Victoria. She is committed to standing up for a caring society, a fair economy and a clean environment.

Janet Rice has been a passionate environmentalist and activist for over 30 years. 

Janet took her seat in the Senate in 2014 and works with her Australian Greens colleagues in Parliament to be a strong voice for people and our environment.

Growing up in Melbourne’s western suburbs, Janet lives in Footscray with her partner Penny and their two adult sons.

A climate scientist by training, Janet began her working life campaigning to protect our forests. She was part of the 1983 Franklin River Blockade, and a leader of the campaign that resulted in the Errinundra National Park in East Gippsland. Within a decade, she was a founding member of the Greens in Victoria.

Janet was the first co-ordinator of Bicycle Network Victoria’s Ride2Work program and chair of the Metropolitan Transport Forum in Melbourne, advocating her vision for healthy, clean and safe transport. As councillor and mayor of the City of Maribyrnong, Janet worked to involve people in Council decision making and positioned the city as a leader in reducing the carbon pollution that causes global warming. She even swapped the mayoral car for a bike as part of her commitment to reduce pollution. 

As a Greens Senator for Victoria, Janet is committed to taking action for a caring and sustainable society.

Janet's work in the Parliament focusses on her portfolios of transport and infrastructure, forests, agriculture and rural affairs and LGBTIQ issues. She advocates for federal funding for public transport, bike and walking infrastructure, stands up for the rights of gender diverse and intersex people, and is working to protect Australia’s native forests and the animals that rely on them from destruction of logging.

Janet is the co-convenor of the Parliamentary Friendship Group for LGBTIQ Australians and the Amnesty International Parliamentary Group, a member of Finance and Public Administration committee, and an active participating member of the Rural and Regional Affairs and Transport committee, Economics committee, and Education and Employment committee.